Skip to content

I'm Autistic!

May 10, 2007

I am fascinated by this disorder. In later posts, I plan on exploring the theory that autism is somehow connected to the next step in evolution. There was an article in SciAm I need to dig up. In the meantime, there are a plethora of YouTube POVs on the subject. Emily is one my favorites.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeffrey permalink
    May 10, 2007 2:20 pm

    I love you even more! Comic books and autism and nursing?! Those are some of my favorite things!

    Not autistic myself, I mostly just have a mood disorder, but it is fascinating on psychological and neurological and other levels. And autistic culture (or “autistic culture,” depending on your view) … Do you know if your child is autistic?

    I just applied to a nursing program in Cleveland, and one definite plus is the opportunity to work in the Autism Center at a top children’s hospital.

  2. Someday...Nurse permalink
    May 10, 2007 8:07 pm

    My sixteen-year old has been diagnosed ADHD, but I am starting to think he may be AS. I’m working on a post about the similarities, and differences, between the to disorders. I’d love your input.

    ~Raven

  3. Jeffrey permalink
    May 11, 2007 9:23 am

    I know very little, but the crucial difference (it seems to me) is that the ADHDs can stabilize with more sensory input (such as video games) while ASs need less sensory input in order to function. The secondary causes (the primary in both disorders being a neurological mystery) are therefore opposite, but the behaviors in reaction to the stress of environmental under- or overactivity are often the same.

    This might be totally 100% wrong, but it intrigues me (as my own thoughts often do). I’ll e-mail you with more thoughts later.

  4. Jeffrey permalink
    May 11, 2007 11:20 am

    Actually, I thought about my statement on the difference between ADHD and AS, and I’m all but 100% sure that it is totally wrong, so I will have to do some research …

Leave a comment